Home Harps Hammered Dulcimers Strings Ordering Support About Us Blog Forum

HELP Identify this harp

Hello. I have no clue who the manufacture of this harp is. It’s my girlfriends harp that her grandfather used to play. An ex of hers threw it against a wall (JERK) and cracked the wood at the leavers. I’m a good woodworker so I believe I can fix and reinforce that. But I digressed a little.
My question for this group is: does anyone know what manufacturer this harp is? classification for a harp this size? and what strings would I order for it. The old ones are in good shape - my only experience is with guitar strings and I know that they tend to stretch/snap if one tries to reuse them.
Any info you guys have, or a point into the right direction if I’m in the wrong place, is greatly appreciated

I’ve uploaded 2 pictures of it. If you need closeup of a specific area let me know. I didn’t know how to measure them, I took the longest measurement (shown in picture) and it was about 30"

Cheers
Doug

Could only upload one image at a time

Hi Doug,

Finding out what strings to put on an unknown harp can be tricky! That harp looks to me like it might be a 19-string Roosebeck or Mid-East lap harp, but I’m not sure what model. It looks sort of similar to this one, except yours might have a solid wood soundboard instead of a laminated one:

http://www.mid-east.com/Strings/Roosebeck-Celtic-Style-Harp/Roosebeck-Pixie-Harp-19-String

I’m afraid I’m not familiar enough with that particular harp to be able to advise you on buying strings, so there are a few ways you might go about that:

1. You could try doing some more research or contacting Roosebeck to see if you can find out what model yours actually is and what strings they advise.