Home Harps Hammered Dulcimers Strings Ordering Support About Us Blog Forum

Harp Names

We thought it would be fun to start a discussion about instrument names. If you’ve named your harp or dulcimer, tell us the name, what it means to you and if there’s a story behind it!

I have three harps. My FH36, Daphne, is named after a comic strip character (I have a collection of those strips inscribed by the author “To Gail and Daphne.” Further I cannot say.). Phoebe, my Harpsicle, is named after one of my former students when I was a school nurse, years ago. Leah, my newly arrived, 25-year-old FH26 sort of took the name a day of two after I picked her up at the UPS terminal in White River Junction, VT. Their names just seem to fit them. It seems to me that my harps have had names pretty much since the day they arrived, but the little Martin 000-18 I’ve had for 42 years never took a name, or at least never told me.

I love the idea of naming instruments, as this is what I have done with all of my accordions. My three harps have names, too. The first harp I purchased in 2007 is a Triplett Christina, which I named “Little Harpo” because I have always loved Harpo Marx. The second harp I bought was a Lyon and Healy Ogden, which has gut strings. I named that harp “Buster” because he arrived with some broken strings and I have to replace them fairly often. My third harp, which arrived here on the 29th of June of this year, I named “Little Dusty.” It is an FH-26 in bubinga and the name seemed to fit. So, those are my three harp babies and they are true gems! I have always thought that if we give our instruments names, then we can more easily connect with them, as they become an extension of us, the player. Playing harp is, indeed, a true gift!

Hello All,

I have one harp, a beautiful black walnut Triplet Catalina Deluxe Staved back. I am a rank beginner and still need to practice.

I have named her Guinevere (not sure if this is her spelling, still working on it)